Big Luck Big Profit 大吉大利

carrotmain Topshop Knitted Textured Stitch Jumper

carrotcollage

From left:

On Sam: Cocoon jacket from Seoul, Equipment silk shirt, Uniqlo jeans, 3.1.Philip Lim flats,
HK boutique necklace, General Idea men’s cap.
On Syb: Hong Kong boutique jacket, Zara skirt, heels, bag and necklace.
On Sam: H&M parka and slub tank, Zara leather shorts, Aldo lace up boots, HK market beanie.
On Syb: Topshop duster coat, H&M Jacquard trousers, Zara heels, ANYWAY necklace.

samcarrot1carrot1samcarrot3Carrot2FLsamcarrot2Carrot4samcarrot4Carrot3

Sweater shot and Sybil’s outfit photos by Sam.
Sam’s outfit photos by Agnes.

I was going to warn you about the excessive amount of orange you will see in this post, but I guess it’s too late now. Oops. Sam, a.k.a. my only friend in real life, and I put together four outfits with this Topshop jumper. Just because we are so different in every single way (height, taste, body shape, taste, hair style, taste, etc), we thought it’d be interesting to see how differently we interpret this unmanageable orange mess. On a side note, the fact that Sam didn’t actually “wear” the jumper made me look like the person who’s not thinking outside of the box. Totally cheating!

Here’s a little breakdown on my two outfits: In the first outfit I wore my newly purchased midget varsity jacket (because Sam totally rocked my long varsity jacket roar roar) together with the sweater tucked in to a slim pencil skirt. I like the “top-heavy” silhouette mostly because it works well on my “top-heavy” body shape, ironically. In the second outfit I challenged myself to wear these really tricky Jacquard trousers, though still not a fan of pants, I can see how they bring out a more sophisticated side of me.

I was having this “Tangerine means luck in Chinese” conversation with my entirely Western team at work as CNY is just around the corner. And it is the first time I realized how cute it is that Chinese people actually believe tangerines will bring them luck. So, as someone who’s desperately in need of luck I decided to wear more orange in 2013 (it’s on trend!). Hope you’re having tons of luck in 2013! Talk soon.

Read Sam’s post here!

32 responses

  1. Ever since I spotted this beautiful bright orange Lim dress in NYC (last September) I’ve been crushing on the color. I haven’t bought anything since, especially not with this level of vibrancy, but you’re making me fall in love again and remember why I wanted it so badly!

    http://hazylaughter.com

  2. it’s awesome to see how versatile one item of clothing can be. and, i LOVE the ‘midget’ varsity jacket. have had my eye on a number of varsity jackets, but trying to find one that will outlast the ‘trend’…you know?
    xo
    n

  3. You guys look perfect. I love the crisp white shirt worn by Sam and the way you’ve tucked that fluro orange jumper into your pencil skirt! Ah you guys make me want to buy one too! Hope you had an amazing CNY!!

  4. Keep up the good work. I must say you have a pretty awesome blog here. But never had any spare time to do what you do i always had a passion for this. I get bored easy so this helps me keep my mind occupied Thanks for enlightening me.

  5. I will keep watching you 🙂 I must say you have a pretty awesome blog here. Keep up the good work. i always had a passion for this,but never had any spare time to do what you do I get bored easy so this helps me keep my mind occupied Thanks for enlightening me.

  6. First of all tell your Mum she does very good pictures;-) To be honest I like all 4 outfits. Red jumper brightens all outfits.

    Ewelina
    xxx
    dublinchiclifestyle.blogspot.com

  7. Great orange-y red hue on that sweater! Love that you styled it in so many different ways.

    Good thoughts from Washington, D.C.,
    x Kel of Stylesmiths
    Stylesmiths

    Check out the spring accessories giveaway we are hosting 🙂

  8. Hi,

    I have a client who would like to work with you on advertorial. Would you be interested?
    Hope to hear from you.

Leave a comment